week 10 – intercambios

Sup!
Don’t have too much time to write, and frankly I don’t have too much to write. We’ve been having less success this week with our investigators, but we do have a few news and a few futures we do want to get to in the coming weeks. We’re changing around a few things (my companion and I), and we’re focusing on contacts this week! A few days ago we were able to get 40 in one hour… BUT yeah so we’re striving for 200 this week. Our standard of excelency for the mission is 120, so we’re going to be working hard! Then some of them will become new investigators in the next week, then hopefully more baptisms can follow in December before I leave.
On Wednesday, we had our Great Exchange! As a zone, we all met up, and we were split from our normal companion and sent somewhere else within our zone. They never tell you whos leaving until like the day of when we all meet up, then they announce it, and we only do exchanges for 24 hours. My companion, Elder Wallace, stayed. Me? I went to a place called Cañete, and one of the Elders there stayed. Elder Watkins. He was born at the same time as me. So we had just finished 3 weeks of the mission together and they paired us together. WHAT? Dude I was freaking out… Especially because his Spanish wasn’t so great, and neither is mine. I was ready to take the challenege, I really thought I could use this opportunity to become a leader of some sort and learn a lot. BUT what happened was two APs, or Assistant to the Presidents came to our sector, Cañete 2, and split us up. So I was able to work with one of the APs, Elder Paris, who is 19 months old in the mission, and has been an AP for a long time. And as two missionaries who were working in a place neither of us originally were, with no plans, we decided to contact for the three hours we had together. We got 51 contacts in 3 hours. Just to put things into perspective, we usually get 80-100 a week, Elder Wallace and I. Our goal this week was 120. wow. So in the sector we worked at, there were two pairs of missionaries working, so together, we got 92 contacts, about 6 new investigators, and a few more references for other zones. It was so great working with someone as experienced and hard working as Elder Paris. I learned a lot in only 3 hours, and guess what? The next day when I returned to my own sector pretty late, and Elder Wallace and I only had about an hour and a half to work because we had to catch a late bus to go to up to Concepcion, where our mission office is, to go to a conference the next day. In that hour and a half, we got 40 contacts. WOOO and I think a few of them will be great investigators. Doing work!
The conference we had to go was the Return and Report thing that all missionaries do in their first transfer. I was able to see my buddies Elder Kirk and Elder Yamada again! I was able to see everyone else who was born with me, and we did some more practices, and had more wise words from the President. It was a great time, and I learned a lot.
No baptisms yet, but we’re looking at about 5 baptismal dates in the month of November! So we’re working super hard to make sure they don’t fall. Also, My first transfer ends Novebmer 2… Two weeks! Thats insane. In three days, I’ll have been in Curanilahue for a month, and on October 13th, I passed my two month mark since I left. Time really does NOT make sense on the mission. Each week it gets faster and faster…
Thank you for all your emails and prayers, I love you all!
Love,
Elder Lee
(PS – For those of you who were as confused as me when I first read this, when he says “he was born at the same time as me,” he doesn’t mean his literal birth. It’s mission lingo – not sure exactly but… it means either when they started the mission or started the mission post-MTC. So, that means they entered the field [e.g. concepcion] at around the same time.)
2 thoughts on “week 10 – intercambios

  1. Hello….
    This is Elder Wallace’s mom! What a pleasant surprise when someone contacted me about this blog! Elder Lee is a beautiful writer and I’m so grateful for the pictures he has posted of my son! I know that they are involved in a marvelous work and I’m grateful they have the opportunity to serve together. Our family lives in Utah and my sister lives in California. Her son left for the Chile, Rancagua Mission and he served with Elder Lee in the M.T.C. there! What a small world. We look forward to reading this blog every week!
    Cindy Wallace

    Like

    • Hi Mrs. Wallace,

      Wow! This is so great! I was beginning to think no one was reading this blog!! I am so glad you have a way to see the pictures Josh has taken. It is a small world indeed.

      Thanks for reading!
      -Sandra (Josh’s sister)

      Like

Leave a Reply

