Concepcion, Chile

Alright. Its been a really long week! Well two cause I couldnt really write much last time. But Ill talk quickly and concisely cause i dont have much time. Excuse the grammar, typos, etc, cause yeah.  [I corrected most of them..]

So the last weekend in the CCM was our last time seeing our teachers, so we said bye to them. It was so tough; they had taught us so much stuff, and really did their best to prepare us for the field. They are examples to me, Hermano Fernandez, Terrazas, and Garza, and I hope I can be missionaries like them.
On Monday, we said goodbye to our fellow Elder Larsen, going to Bolivia. It was such a hard goodbye. He bore his testimony in our classroom before he left to get his stuff while we continued to have our class, but the class was tearing up, and the Spirit was so strong. Elder Yamada gave him a blessing, and it was amaaazing. I miss him a lot, and Elder Larsen if you’re reading this, I hope you’re doing well and you’re safe. I know youre a strong lil buddy and I know it’ll be hard, but you can get through it and become the best missionary of all of us!
Then we slowly said our goodbyes between that and the Santiago Airport. First was Elder Fuge who stayed at the MTC a few more days, then Elder Batemen, Furner, and Andersen who are serving in Santiago South. It was so hard to say goodbye to all of them. They’re not in the same mission so we really won’t see each other for two years, but I know that in those two years, they’ll do well, and they’ll be amazing missionaries. We’ve all grown together and become a family, and I’ll never forget them for being my first mission family.
Then we arrived in concepcion. We had a small tour of the city which isn’t even our mission, then went to the mission office, home, and a chapel to do our presentations, orientations, etc, throughout Tuesday and Wednesday morning. We slept in Holiday Inn, best we’ll have for two years. It was a glorious bed… But Wednesday morning, we met our trainers, and mine is Elder Wallace. From Cottonwood Heights, Utah, so very near my birthplace. He’s an amazing missionary, been here for 11 months and knows the language backwards and forwards. IT’S TOUGH. Chilean is a whole new language. They cut their ´s´s from their words, so mas o menos becomes ma o meno, and they speak quickly, so its just maomeno. Then, they say no mas in like every sentence at the end, so it becomes ´maomenonoma´. What on earth. I’m trying my best, and I’m learning a LOT under Elder Wallace. I’m his second hijo, or kid, or ahdul in Korean, and he definitely knows how to train someone. It’s super hard, but it’s fun.
Our first day, Wednesday in the field, was tough. We got home, I dropped my stuff off, went to get lunch with some members, then we went to go proselyting. We met a future investigator and she seems very curious and interested. Then it rained, and poured, and rained, and poured even more. And I was in my suit. And nothing else. It. was. so. cold. and. so. wet. It took like 3 or 4 days to dry my shoes. Luckily I found a poncho that my Dad gave me (THANKS DAD) and I used my boots the next time it rained. So it’s all good! Everythings dry.
The weather here is amazing. It’s quite chilly in the mornings and nights, but great throughout the day with the sun out. It sucks though because we usually have our coats because were out until its late at night, so when were walking, I’m sweating a LOT. My sleeve, once, was drenched. Not from rain (though it was sprinkiling a little), but from sweat. Gross.
Over the next few days. we had our fair share of lessons, not enough to satisfy our goals, but enough for my first week i suppose… I got to know some of our investigators, Natalia y su mama, Lorena, Yaryxa, and David. Natalia is 17, Yarxya, im not so sure, i think like… mid 20s? and David is 11. I love them all, and I love teaching all of them, and I love helping them. It’s only been a week and I already love all of them and everyone I meet on the streets. We do a LOT of tracting. On Sunday, we focused the whole day after midday on tracting and doing contacts because we were falling a bit behind in the week. So we meet many people, and I’m still shy especially because I can’t understand nada, but its fine! I’m learning and working hard.
As for schedule for those that are curious! Here it is. We wake up at 7, get ready, exercise, shower, eat, until 830, when we start studying, personal and Companion until 11. Then we go out and proselyte, whether thats appointments already made, or contacting, or trying to see if an investigator or a future investigator is available. We come back at 130 to eat lunch, and each lunch except monday, we go to a members house and they feed us. and feed us. and feed us. For example, its soup, then potato and meats, then some small thing after, then ice cream. Every. Time. And all they have is Soda. The only water I’ve had was the water from my water bottle that I fill up every morning before we leave. SHOOT. OR Chuta, in Chilean. Choooota. But then we walk a lot because we only walk in this sector. We walk about 15000 steps a day, but this week has been a little abnormal, so I would assume we would normally walk anywhere between 15000 and 25000 steps. My legs hurt.
As for my house, i like it! We live in a little apartment with two other missionaries (one companionship), who serve in our sector and our branch as well. It’s very small and humble, but It’s all we need. The houses here of investigators and members range from very very humble, to super nice. I guess I can’t really put much to words, but you’ll have to wait until my pictures are up.
I love it here so far, everyone. Thank you all for your kind words and your prayers, its really been helping me. I’m doing well, and I’m learning a lot. I don’t have too much time to write on my PDAYS (email), so I’d enjoy letters, so please send me some letters!  [Remember, his address is on the right of the blog, if you want to send him anything]
A little bit I forgot:

So Im the first Korean in the mission. Elder Yamada [He’s the half Japanese Elder, he met at the CCM] and I are the first Asians in the mission! WOOHOO
My small town of 1800 people, Curanilahue (prononuced cooraneelaway, has never had an Asian in it, and everyone I meet is SUPER super super super awed at the fact that I’m Asian. Its weird. It’s funny. And everyone makes the Bruce Lee joke just cause of my last name, but that’s nothing new.
anyway, that is all!
Love you all,
Elder Lee
Leave a Reply

