Week 2 – CCM

Hey all!

Another week has gone by. This time, the week flew by, it seemed like only yesterday I wrote a post. That being said, there hasn’t been too much going on at the MTC. Just a LOT of learning. We have 4 teachers. Hermano Garza, Hermano Fernandez, Hermano Terrazas, and some other dude I can’t remember. Garza and Fernandez are our main teachers, but Terrazas subs in on Saturdays cause Garza attends university. Earlier last week, we had two hermana teachers, Hermana Vasquez and Hermana Vargas helping Hermano Garza out, so we had 6 different teachers thus far, when we’re only supposed to have like two… But holy COW hermano Terrazas walks like a bullet. We have to jog just to keep up. Missionary pace indeed.

I’ve been having companion troubles since very early. He’s a cool guy, funny and many similar interests, but he is not focused. I’m busting my butt here trying to work hard, actually do what I”m supposed to. Keep to the schedule, focus on the work. After all, we’re here on the Lord’s time, not ours. But this kid is NEVER focused, never is on time, and has very little motivation to do things. He fools around a bit too much for the workload of the MTC here. I’m sure i”ll have worse, but it’s not easy when your first companion is not doing anything properly. He’s the kind of dude who never has his own pencil, folds papers and important documents and keeps it in his pocket, and always keeps his mouth open. LOL it bugs me so much. I pray every day to have the strength to stay calm, and so far so good.

Someone in my district and in my house (but not my companion), Elder Delamare (half American Half Venezuelan, he’s also 6″7) and I decided to work out in the mornings before everything cause no one in our district wants to work out during out allotted gym time. So we started on Monday, woke up at 5:30 and worked out from 5:50-6:20. We had to be back by 6:30 cause that’s our wake up time and we need the time from 6:30 to 7:15 to get up and prepare for the day.

I think it was last Saturday or Friday that it rained like no other, almost monsoon-esque. In the main plaza, the ground bricks weren’t laid evenly, so there were a few huge puddles of water. I was running by with my umbrella, jumped the first one, didn’t see the second one, and stomped right into it. My whole right shoe and probably a few inches of my slacks got soaked. Gotta get used to that.

The workload is still high, and we’re starting to do an English Fast, everyday after lunch and before dinner, and all day Sunday. I’ve been doing alright, and my Spanish has REALLY gotten better. Some people don’t even try (companion ahem). It’s funny, some of the guys always complain how they suck at Spanish, but never take any of the study time, language time, or free time to learn anything. They expect to receive the gift of tongues and the Holy Ghost to help them,  but they forget that without preparation, they won’t be blessed with such things.

As of spiritual, missionary experience, I have 2 for you guys this week. On Wednesday (27th), we had our first real investigators in a class called TRC, Teaching Resource Centre. One of our investigators is a close friend and classmate of our teacher who attends university, and that teacher, Hermano Terrazas, has already introduced the Church and the Gospel to her, Jasmine. She agreed to come to the MTC (CCM) and be an investigator. She’s never had previous missionary or church experience, so we were fairly crucial in her search for the truth. It made it all more nerve wracking that during our lesson, Hermano Terrazas came in and listened to our lesson. Nevertheless, the lesson was one of our best ever. She was SO attentive, and she loved Christ so much already. It was easy to let the Holy Spirit speak through us and address her needs. I have no doubt that soon, through not only other missionaries but Hermano Terrazas as well, she will be baptised.

The second experience happened because my roommate was sick. Elder Yamada hadn’t and hasn’t been feeling too well this past week, so his companion, Elder Anderson, me, and my companion, Elder Kirk (we all sleep in the same room and are in the same district) decided to give him a blessing. For those of you who don’t know, we believe that we hold the true Priesthood, or the power and authority to act in God’s name. THis allows us to do such sacred work on missions, baptise people, and give blessings to other people, those who are sick, and those who just need help. To do this, we use a drop of consecrated oil and lay our hands on Elder Yamada’s head, and Elder Anderson gave the blessing and prayer. We are new to this authority, so blessing someone who is sick was somewhat unprecendented to us. Nevertheless, as soon as Elder Anderson started the prayer, we felt the Holy Spirit fill the room. He spoke clearly and simply through Elder Anderson, expressing feelings of love and care. When we closed, we were all on the verge of tears. Elder Anderson opened his eyes, really confused as to what had happened, saying “I had no idea what I was doing.” His eloquence, love, and care testify of the truth of the Holy Spirit.

Anyway, that’s enough religious mumble jumble to you guys! I’ve learned a lot so far, and my faith has grown a ton since i”ve been here. I’m excited everyday to do the Lord’s work and see how I”ll change, and am motivated to not only do the best I can do, but also become the best I can be.

Anyway, that’s it for today! I am thankful for all your emails, showing of love and care, thoughts and prayers. I hope you all are doing well, and I am keeping each of you in my prayers as well.

 

Until next week,

Elder Lee

________________

Note from sister:

For those of you who may not understand our beliefs in Christ, as was mentioned in Elder Lee’s blog, I suggest starting out by reading these two talks:

1. “The Only True God and Jesus Christ Whom He Hath Sent” by Elder Jeffrey Holland (this one is a little more intense, and Elder Holland has a tendency to be very… intense, so if you’re not LDS, take it with a grain of salt, and if/when you understand more, his talk might make more sense).

2. “The Way of the Disciple” by President Uchtdorf (Uchtdorf is always very soft, I think.  You can relate to what he talks about a lot.)

Start here and look around and find out what you think you believe in!

I encourage you to email Josh if you are interested in knowing how he’s doing!

 

Here are some update pictures: Most of them.. I don’t know what’s going on or what’s happening… so enjoy!

Leave a Reply

