D-1 to mission

“You don’t set out to build a wall. You don’t say ‘I’m going to build the biggest, baddest, greatest wall that’s ever been built’. You don’t start there. You say ‘I’m going to lay this brick as perfectly as a brick can be laid’. You do that every single day. And soon, you will have a wall” – Will Smith

Some people have been astounded at the hard work I’ll be doing on my mission when I describe it to them. Wake up at 6:30 a.m., study, go out and proselyte and serve until 9:30, and sleep at 10:30 p.m. Sometimes, I’m even surprised that I’m committing to it. But I have to take it day by day. Living each day as best as I can is how I’ll maximize and enjoy my mission.

This reminds me of a movie about a man who can time travel. He travels in time to fix the mistakes he’s made, to try to make what could have been, a reality. And in all the time travel he’s done, he’s found that the best use of it is to at the end of the day, travel to the beginning of that day, and relive that day. Enjoy every bit of that repeated day to its fullest, notice things you didn’t notice before on the first time around. He repeated the days he didn’t want to, and repeated the days he wanted to. He felt pain, agony, joy, serenity, and contentment, but the second time around, he felt more joy, serenity, and contentment. Then soon, he learned to live every day as if it were his second time going through it. To take it minute by minute, and enjoy everything, work hard at everything, and truly put his soul and life into his days.

The mission will be full of days that I don’t want to repeat and full of days I want to repeat. But whatever happens, I will strive to go each day to make sure that when I tuck myself in at night, I’ll be content with it. The mission is tough work, and every day, I get more and more ready to battle the waves and work hard. I’m ready to face what the world and what the Lord has to offer me, and I will go through my mission day by day, doing my best to make every day count. It’s only 730 days of work, and that number will start dwindling before I know it.

Today is Tuesday, and today, I’ll be set apart as a missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. I’ve grown up as a missionary, because every member a missionary, but this is where things get real. Let’s see how I can do it, and I’m glad I have all of your support. Your emails, letters, and packages will do wonders and help me go day by day, by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

